Collectable items

[Updated: July 24, 2000]

What follows are items you might find interesting to collect!

Jaguar press kit

The Jaguar press kit was presented at the New York International Auto Show 2000. It includes a video tape containing the video for Desert Rose and two Jaguar S-Type Commercials (a 60-second S-Type Desert Rose and a 30-second S-Type Desert Rose). The kit also includes a promo CD-single with three versions of Desert Rose (Desert Rose (Radio Edit; 3.54)/ Desert Rose (LP Version; 4.46)/ Desert Rose (Melodic Club Mix Radio Edit; 4.44)). The press kit also includes six 35mm full color transparencies showing the car and Sting. The same pictures are also printed on a full color sheet. Two pages of printed matter on Jaguar letterhead are also included.

To promote the release of the four No Speak albums (including Stewart's The Equalizer & Other Cliff Hangers) I.R.S. released the sampler "Music Too Good For Words - I.R.S. NO SPEAK" (1988; catelogue number : IRSD-NSPROMO). The sampler contains the following tracks:
Somethings Happening In The Room and A Rose Is A Rose by Wishbone Ash, The Equalizer Buzy Equalizing and Tancred Ballet by Stewart Copeland, Fire and Mercy and Via Calient by William Orbit, Terry Anne and Lucienne by Pete Haycock.

Promo CD

To promote the release of Message in a box: The Complete Recordings A&M released the sampler "Selections From Message In A Box" (1993, catelogue number : 31454 8044 2). The songs are:
  1. Fall Out 2:02
  2. Message In A Bottle (live) 4:49
  3. Next To You (live) 3:14
  4. So Lonely 4:49
  5. Roxanne 3:10
  6. Synchronicity II 5:02
  7. Every Breath You Take 4:14
  8. Spirits In The Material World 2:59
  9. Driven To Tears (live) 3:27
  10. Walking In Your Footsteps 3:37
  11. Don't Stand So Close To Me 4:00
  12. Wrapped Around Your Finger 5:14
  13. Demolition Man 5:56
  14. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic 4:19
  15. King Of Pain 4:59
  16. Tea In The Sahara (live) 5:04
  17. Once Upon A Daydream 3:29

radio only promo

To promote the release of the digitally remastered albums a "radio only promo" sampler (catelogue number : 588 626-2) was released in the UK. The sampler features a song from six of the digitally remastered albums and comes in a thin jewel case. The songs are:
  1. If You Love Somebody (Set Them Free)
  2. Englishman In New York
  3. One World (Not Three)/Love Is The Seventh Wave
  4. All This Time
  5. If I Ever Lose My Faith In You
  6. Let Your Soul Be Your Pilot

radio only promo

In 1979 the 7" single by the The Radio Actors was released, which was a Hawkwind off shoot with Sting on lead vocals. This track was recorded in the summer of 1977. The band consists of: Sting (lead vocals)/ Steve Broughton (drums)/ Steve Hillage (lead guitar)/ Nick Turner (sax & vocal)/ Mike Howlett (drums)/ Harry Williamson (rythm guitar)/ Gilli Smyth (vocals). The concept of this band was from Nick Turner and this is the only record recorded by this band. The two songs on this single: Nuclear Waste/ Digital Love.

Nuclear Waste

In November 1991 A&M Records released a limited edition box set containing the "Acoustic Live in Newcastle" CD and the 89 pages book "The Illustrated Lyrics".

The CD contains the following songs:

  1. Mad About You
  2. Ain't No Sunshine
  3. Island Of Souls
  4. The Wild Wild Sea
  5. The Soul Cages

All tracks were recorded live at the Buddle Arts Centre in Wallsend on April 20, 1991. Only a few streets away from the place where Sting was born he performed this special acoustic set in front of relatives, friends and special invited guests. It features Dominic Miller on guitar, Vinnie Colaiuta on drums and David Sancious on keyboards. Kathryn Tickell joined on Nothumbrian Pipes during Island Of Souls.

The book features visual interpretations (full-color with plenty of pictures and illustrations) of the following Sting songs by Roberto Gligorov:

  • an introduction by Sting
  • All This Time
  • Jeremiah Blues
  • Island of Souls
  • The Soul Cages
  • The Wild, Wild Sea
  • Mad About You
  • When The Angels Fall
  • Under The Dog Stail Star (Why Sould I Cry For You)
  • History Will Teach Us Nothing
  • Sister Moon
  • Fragile
  • The Secret Marriage
  • Englishman In New York
  • The Lazarus Heart
  • Straight To My Heart
  • Rock Steady
  • They Dance Alone
  • Set Them Free
  • Children's Crusade
  • Russians
  • Fortress Around Your Heart
  • We Work The Black Seam Together
  • Moon Over Bourbon Street
  • Consider Me Gone

CD Acoustic Live in Newcastle + book The Illustrated Lyrics

In November 1995 the 2-disc CD-rom set "All This Time" was released by Starwave. It is designed for Windows95 and contains many items (songs, video, images, spoken words) of Sting which haven't been released before. The item came in a special presentation box.

Presentation box "All This Time"

[Home] [What's new] [Latest news] [My collection] [Concert Archive] [Discography] [The Police bootlegs] [Sting bootlegs] [Interviews & articles] [Links] [Photos]

Rogier's Police Page
Rogier van der Gugten, Utrecht, 2002