Porgy and Bess - Joe Henderson

[Updated: July 4, 2001]

Title:Porgy and Bess - Joe Henderson
Catalogue number:314 539 046-2
Release date:09-1997
  1. Act I
  2. Introduction: Jasbo Brown Blues
  3. Summertime
  4. Here Come De Honeyman/They Pass By Singin'
  5. My Man's Gone Now
  6. Act II
  7. I Got Plenty O' Nuttin'
  8. Bess, You Is My Woman Now
  9. It Ain't Necessarily So
  10. I Loves You Porgy
  11. Act III
  12. There'a A Boat Dat's Leavin Soon For New York
  13. Oh Bess, Oh Where's My Bess
Remarks:Rounding out the stellar cast of instrumentalists are two special vocal cameos: soul icon Chaka Khan revitalizes the essence of "Summertime", and Sting works up an evocative treatment of "It Ain't Necessarily So". As Sting explained, "when they told me the line-up of the band, I freaked, and figured even I could sound good in front of that lot. The Gershwin material is timeless, sardonic, and difficult to sing, and it was nice to make my debut on Verve in such fine company." Henderson returned the compliment: "I'm amazed by what Sting has done with this lyric. I listen to it all the time."

  • Joe Henderson (tenor sax)
  • Conrad Herwig (trombone)
  • John Scofield (guitar)
  • Stefon Harris (vibes)
  • Tommy Flanagan (piano)
  • Dave Holland (bass)
  • Jack DeJohnette (drums)
  • Chaka Khan (vocal track #2)
  • Sting (vocal track #7)
Joe Henderson died on June 30, 2001 at the age of 64.

[Home] [What's new] [Latest news] [My collection] [Concert Archive] [Discography] [The Police bootlegs] [Sting bootlegs] [Interviews & articles] [Links] [Photos]

Rogier's Police Page
Rogier van der Gugten, Utrecht, 2002