The Lute Is A Song - Edin Karamazov

[Updated: November 3, 2009]

The Lute Is A Song - Edin Karamazov

Title:The Lute Is A Song - Edin Karamazov
Catalogue number:-
Release date:2009
  1. Leo Brouwer - Paisaje Cubano Con Rumba
  2. Sting - Alone with my Thoughts Tonight (featuring Sting)
  3. J. S. Bach - Toccata and Fugue in d minor
  4. Henry Purcell - When I am Laid in Earth (Dido's Lament, featuring Renee Fleming)
  5. Giovanni Zamboni - Suonata
  6. G. F. Handel - O Lord, Whose Mercies Numberless (featuring Andreas Scholl)
  7. C. Domeniconi - Koyunbaba
  8. Traditional - Edo so Maki (featuring Kaliopi)
Remarks:Sting is one of the performers on the first solo album "The Lute is a song" of Edin Karamazov. The many voices of his lutes and guitars are joined by Renée Fleming, Kaliopi, Andreas Scholl and Sting in new interpretations of songs from the pop, folk and classical traditions. Sting sings on the track Alone with my Thoughts Tonight, which is a new redition of the song I Was Brought To My Senses (which appeared on Sting's 1996 album Mercury Falling).

Edin Karamazov is considered as one of the greatest virtuosos on lute, an archaic instrument. Born in Zenica in 1965, Karamazov first studied classical guitar, winning even four first awards at the prestigious competitions. He studied lute with Hopkinson Smith at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis and worked with Hesperion and Hilliard Ensemble. Apart from collaboration with Sting, Karamazov also released several editions with the virtuoso Andreas Scholl.

[Home] [What's new] [Latest news] [My collection] [Concert Archive] [Discography] [The Police bootlegs] [Sting bootlegs] [Interviews & articles] [Links] [Photos]

Rogier's Police Page
© Rogier van der Gugten, Utrecht, 2009