First You Build A Cloud - Andy Summers & Ben Verdery

[Updated: November 8, 2008]

First You Build A Cloud - Andy Summers & Ben Verdery

Title:First You Build A Cloud - Andy Summers & Ben Verdery
Label:Rare Recordings
Catalogue number:RAR1001
Release date:Aug. 24, 2007
  1. First You Build A Cloud
  2. Skywalking Woman
  3. Fez
  4. Bring On The Night
  5. World Piece
  6. Love In The Time Of
  7. Now I'm Free
  8. Stone Town
  9. Fingertips On Earth
  10. The Girl From Reykjavik
  11. Flow
  12. Sarabande
  13. Brotherhood Of The Grape [bonus track]
Remarks:Andy recorded this album in collaboration with Ben Verdery. They shared a stage together at the 2002 New York Guitar Festival in 2002. After this event the possibility was raised of making a record together. Andy recalls: "Although our musical disciplines were, at least on the surface, something different - Ben, classical guitar, me, jazz and rock improvisation - we had both played in each other's main style. This led to an easy exchange, where we were able to create an interesting, hybrid, non-generic style. Rather than taking the standard route of slowly composing together, we got at it with a shock tactic. In other words, just improvise together - composing in the heat of the moment and trusting the instinct and musicianship built over many years; put another way - blow. This we did. As we moved through takes and ideas of playing together, something crystallised. With Ben playing fantastic arpeggios on various guitars in remote tuning, I found it inspiring to take off over those soundscapes, following Ben's rhythm and my own ears, as he laid out the harmonies. The result is this album....".

Andy Summers: "I made a record with Ben Verdery, a classical guitarist. It's all original, although we did do [the Police's] Bring On the Night. Ben is a hardcore Police fan and loved the arpeggio from that song. He plays all kinds of weird stuff on a classical guitar plus a retuned 12-string with chopsticks. I mostly play a sustained electric guitar sound. We're not playing jazz. It's improvisational, but very pretty. It's very ethereal, but it has some really gnarly moments as well" (quote from interview by Jonathan Cohen; Oct 17, 2006).

[Home] [What's new] [Latest news] [My collection] [Concert Archive] [Discography] [The Police bootlegs] [Sting bootlegs] [Interviews & articles] [Links] [Photos]

Rogier's Police Page
" Rogier van der Gugten, Utrecht, 2005