Rogue's Gallery - Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs and Chanteys - various artists

[Updated: April 5, 2013]


Title:Rogue's Gallery - Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs and Chanteys - various artists
Label:Anti Records
Catalogue number:86817
Release date:August 22, 2006
  1. Cape Cod Girls - Baby Gramps
  2. Mingulay Boat Song - Richard Thompson
  3. My Son John - John C. Reilly
  4. Fire Down Below - Nick Cave
  5. Turkish Revelry - Loudon Wainwright III
  6. Bully In The Alley - Three Pruned Men
  7. The Cruel Ship's Captain - Bryan Ferry
  8. Dead Horse - Robin Holcomb
  9. Spanish Ladies - Bill Frisell
  10. High Barbary - Joseph Arthur
  11. Haul Away Joe - Mark Anthony Thompson
  12. Dan Dan - David Thomas
  13. Blood Red Roses - Sting
  14. Sally Brown - Teddy Thompson
  15. Lowlands Away - Rufus Wainwright & Kate McGarrigle
  16. Baltimore Whores - Gavin Friday
  17. Rolling Sea - Eliza Carthy
  18. The Mermaid - Martin Carthy & the UK Group
  19. Haul On The Bowline - Bob Neuwirth
  20. Dying Sailor to His Shipmates - Bono
  21. Bonnie Portmore - Lucinda Williams
  22. Shenandoah - Richard Greene & Jack Shit
  23. The Cry Of Man - Mary Margaret O'Hara
disc 2
  1. Boney - Jack Shit
  2. Good Ship Venus - Loudon Wainwright III
  3. Long Time Ago - White Magic
  4. Pinery Boy - Nick Cave
  5. Lowlands Low - Bryan Ferry w/Antony
  6. One Spring Morning - Akron/Family
  7. Hog Eye Man - Martin Carthy & family
  8. The Fiddler/A Drop of Nelson's Blood - Ricky Jay & Richard Greene
  9. Caroline and Her Young Sailor Bold - Andrea Corr
  10. Fathom The Bowl - John C. Reilly
  11. Drunken Sailor - David Thomas
  12. Farewell Nancy - Ed Harcourt
  13. Hanging Johnny - Stan Ridgway
  14. Old Man of The Sea - Baby Gramps
  15. Greenland Whale Fisheries - Van Dyke Parks
  16. Shallow Brown - Sting
  17. The Grey Funnel Line - Jolie Holland
  18. A Drop of Nelson's Blood - Jarvis Cocker
  19. Leave Her Johnny - Lou Reed
  20. Little Boy Billy - Ralph Steadman
Remarks:Film director GORE VERBINSKI, actor JOHNNY DEPP and music producer HAL WILLNER joined forces with ANTI RECORDS for the two-CD set ROGUE’S GALLERY: PIRATE BALLADS, SEA SONGS & CHANTEYS. The idea for ROGUE’S GALLERY originated when Verbinski and Depp were working on their second film together, the Pirates Of The Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest.

Sting contributed Blood Red Roses (disc 1 - track 13) and Shallow Brown (disc 2 - track 16)

Liner notes Blood Red Roses:
Sting - vocals
Richard Greene - violin
Michael Thompson - accordion
Pete Thomas - drums, bkg vocals
Val McCallum, Doug Pettibone, Davey Fallagher, Debra Dobkin, Greg Prestopino - bkg vocals
Recorded in Los Angeles at Sunset Sound Studios
Engineered by Dave Rideau, assisted by Erich Talaba
This halyard chantey was popular in Cape Horn ships out of Liverpool. It is most probably based on a family of Irish and English folk songs concerning the Napoleonic Wars. The “blood red roses” may be a reference to British redcoat soldiers, or it may be the capitol cities of Europe, referred to as the “bonnie bunch of roses” that Napoleon tried to gather and lost, in an Irish song of that name.
Asked about the Sting contribution “Blood Red Roses,” Willner says, “He was totally natural for this subject. He comes from Newcastle. He grew up hearing these things--it’s interesting how you hear a lot of little Beatles melodies in these songs. You know, Liverpool was a big port, and Australia and Maui and Cape Cod. Sting grew up with a lot of these songs, as did John C. Reilly. So he just came over to the studio, I gave him some songs and he just jumped into the process.”

Liner notes Shallow Brown:
Sting - vocals
Mocean Worker - keyboards, electronics
Debra Dobkin, Val McCallum, Davey Fallagher, Greg Prestopino – bkg vocals
Recorded in Los Angeles at Sunset Sound Studios
Engineered by Dave Rideau, assisted by Erich Talaba
The word “shallow” here is probably derived from “challo,” a West Indian word meaning “half-caste.” This beautiful sentimental song was first used for the pumps and later as a halyard chantey.

[Home] [What's new] [Latest news] [My collection] [Concert Archive] [Discography] [The Police bootlegs] [Sting bootlegs] [Interviews & articles] [Links] [Photos]

Rogier's Police Page
© Rogier van der Gugten, Utrecht, 2006