Outlandos d'Amour - The Police

[Updated: February 13, 2006]

Outlandos d'Amour - The PoliceLyrics: Outlandos d'Amour - The Police

Title:Outlandos d'Amour
Label:A&M Records
Catalogue number:394 753
Release date:November 17, 1978 (UK)
  1. Next To You
  2. So Lonely
  3. Roxanne
  4. Hole In My Life
  5. Peanuts
  6. Can't Stand Losing You
  7. Truth Hits Everybody
  8. Born In The 50's
  9. Be My Girl - Sally
  10. Masoko Tanga
Remarks:On January 13, 1978 The Police started to record their first album at Surrey Sound Studios in Leatherhead (near London). Producer Nigel Gray: "I thought they were just great. Far and away the best band we've ever had in the studio".
During the recording sessions Miles Copeland really got interested in the band: "I wanted the record to be as good as they could make it. I used to go in every few days and listen to what they'd done and criticise it. They made the music and I went in and told them what I thought was good and bad and they'd work on it and then I'd go back again. [One day] they were all very depressed at the end of the session because I had ripped apart just about every number they'd done. I asked them if they had anything else and they said, 'Well , there's one more song but we're not going to play it to you', as they figured I wouldn't like it. That song turned out to be Roxanne and I immediately thought it was fantastic and the next day I took it to A&M Records who agreed to put it out as a single" (Police File no.18; p.26).
On March 22, 1978 A&M Records signed The Police and Miles officially became the manager. Roxanne was released by A&M Records on April 7, 1978.
The Police ended the recording of the album Outlandos d'Amour in the beginning of August 1978.

Despite the claim on their liner notes of 'Outlandos d'Amour' that the album was entirely produced and arranged by the band, there was also a note of thanks to veteran reggae producer Joe Sinclair. Surely Sinclair added his expertise at some point and possibly influenced the resultant reggae ambience on the record.

[Home] [What's new] [Latest news] [My collection] [Concert Archive] [Discography] [The Police bootlegs] [Sting bootlegs] [Interviews & articles] [Links] [Photos]

Rogier's Police Page
Rogier van der Gugten, Utrecht, 2002